History of ANZSSFR

The Australian and New Zealand Society for Sarcopenia and Frailty Research (ANZSSFR) was formed in 2016 with the objective to promote clinical, basic and translational research on sarcopenia and frailty in Australia and New Zealand. The foundation committee comprised:

  • President: Professor Gustavo Duque

  • Vice-President: Professor Ian Cameron

  • Secretary: Professor Robin Daly

  • Treasurer: Ms Rita Kinsella

  • Councillors: A/Prof Solomon Yu, Prof Andrea Maier, Prof Susan Kurrle, A/Prof Ruth Hubbard, A/Prof Debra Waters, Prof Charles Inderjeeth

Under the guidance of founding President Professor Gustavo Duque, with support from the Australian Institute for Musculoskeletal Science (AIMSS), University of Melbourne, Victoria University and Western Health, the first ANZSSFR meeting was held in Melbourne on 11-12 November 2016 and attracted over 150 delegates and leaders from within Australia and overseas. International invited speakers included Prof Stephanie Studenski, Prof Douglas Kiel, Prof Jeremy Walston and Prof Alfonso J Cruz-Jentoft.