Chair - Prof Alan Hayes

Professor Alan Hayes is the Assistant Dean, Western Centre for Health Research and Education (WCHRE) located at Sunshine Hospital and the Deputy Director of the Australian Institute for Musculoskeletal Sciences (AIMSS). Professor Hayes has over 25 years’ experience in muscle physiology studies. 


Scientific and Advisory

Chair - Prof Gordon Lynch

Professor Lynch is the Director of the Centre for Muscle Research at The University of Melbourne. He gained his Ph.D. in Physiology from The University of Melbourne (1992) and completed postdoctoral training with Prof. John A. Faulkner at the Institute of Gerontology at The University of Michigan, U.S.A. (1995-1997) while a NHMRC C.J. Martin Fellow. He was appointed Lecturer in Physiology at The University of Melbourne in 1999, promoted to Professor in 2008 and served as Head of the Department of Physiology from 2011-2016. 


Sarcopenia Diagnosis Task Force

Chair - Dr David Scott

Dr David Scott (PhD, 2010) is an exercise scientist whose research focuses on the effects of age-related changes in body composition on physical performance, falls and fracture risk. He is a current NHMRC Career Development Fellow at Monash University and also holds an Honorary appointment at The University of Melbourne. He conducts studies on the effects of sarcopenia and obesity on bone and muscle health in older adults, and the role of exercise and vitamin D in preventing falls and fractures. He has expertise in dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry, peripheral quantitative computed tomography and objective assessments of physical activity and muscle function.

Invited Members of Task Force

Gustavo Duque, David Scott, Jesse Zanker, Rob Daly, Alan Hayes, Josh Lewis, Manuel Montero‐Odasso, Charles Inderjeeth, Andrea Maier, Debra Waters, Sandra Iuliano, Kerrie Sanders, Sharon Brennan‐Olsen, Julie Pasco, Steven Phu, Solomon Yu, Esmee Reijnierse, Chris Girgis, Tim Henwood, Paul Gregorevic, Mathis Grossmann, Justin Keogh, Vasani Hirani, Renuka Visvanathan.